[TI] TI MAIL FILTERING

Laura Johnson rngade57 at madisontelco.com
Sat May 16 16:26:46 CDT 2009


I will respond to you offlist reagarding this

Fr. Anthony Delisi wrote:
> Dear Laura,
>
> Chick is looking for some D.V.D.s  he sent you.  Is there a need for me to
> go through my files to see what I have of his? 
>
> PAX.  fr. Anthony
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: terminiimerese-bounces at comunesofitaly.org
> [mailto:terminiimerese-bounces at comunesofitaly.org] On Behalf Of Laura
> Johnson
> Sent: Saturday, May 16, 2009 8:12 AM
> To: terminiimerese at comunesofitaly.org
> Subject: [TI] TI MAIL FILTERING
>
> Just because a message appears on the list and looks like it was sent 
> directly from that person, does not mean it actually arrived at the 
> server in plain text format.
>
> In the case of Ann's messages that were sent last night to the list, I 
> had to strip it of the HTML coding at the server level and then allow it 
> to post.
>
> FIRST, this filtering is for the benefit of EVERYONE on this list.  It 
> prevents spammers from sending email to the list. I prevents viruses etc 
> from getting through to the list.  It keeps it all safer for all of us 
> this way. 
>
> There are 3 things that can happen when an email arrives at the server 
> in anything other than plain text.
>
> 1.  It sits in a holding folder on the server.  I then have to go in and 
> tell it to strip the HTML, Rich Text, or attachment from it.  When I do 
> this, then the email is SENT directly to the list and it appears that it 
> was a normal plain text message and looks just like the person sent it 
> without a problem
>
> 2.  The email is auto-forwarded to me because it fails the HOLD ON 
> SERVER test.  At this point, the only way I can send it back to the list 
> is to click FORWARD, then change the format to plain text, then click 
> send.  These are the messages that have FWD in the subject line.
>
> 3.  The email is auto-discarded due to reasons such as:
>     a.  The filter believes it is SPAM
>     b.  The filter thinks it is a VIRUS, TROJAN, or WORM, etc
>     c.  The sender is NOT subscribed to the list (usually spammers BUT 
> if you try to send with an email address that is NOT subscribed to the 
> list it could fall in this category.  Sometimes it holds the message for 
> my approval)
>     d. contains sexual content, obscene language, etc
>
> Rosalie Amison wrote:
>   
>> This is coming in plain text.
>> Rosalie
>>
>>   
>>
>>     
>
> _______________________________________________
> TerminiImerese mailing list
> TerminiImerese at comunesofitaly.org
> http://comunesofitaly.org/mailman/listinfo/terminiimerese_comunesofitaly.org
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> TerminiImerese mailing list
> TerminiImerese at comunesofitaly.org
> http://comunesofitaly.org/mailman/listinfo/terminiimerese_comunesofitaly.org
>
>   



More information about the TerminiImerese mailing list